Guild Connected Authors Win 2011 Christy Awards

Chris Fabry, member of the Christian Writers Guild’s Editorial Board, and DiAnn Mills, Craftsman course mentor, recently added awards to their writing resumes.

Chris Fabry

Fabry’s Almost Heaven (Tyndale), won the Christy in the Contemporary Standalone category. Fabry said, “Sometimes you find a great story. Sometimes you hunt for an idea and come up with gold. This time the story found me.”

“Half of this award belongs to Jerry Jenkins because of his mentoring over the years. The other half goes to Tyndale for giving me the chance to tell a story about a lonely mountain man with a dream and the angel who views his life.”

Fabry previously won this category with his 2009 book, Dogwood (Tyndale), and was nominated in 2010 for June Bug (Tyndale).

DiAnn Mills

DiAnn Mills

Mills’s Sworn to Protect (Tyndale), won the Contemporary Romance category Christy. Mills, who published her first book in 1998, called the award “humbling.”

“My writing cannot touch readers unless it is first blessed by God,” she said. “He puts key people in my path to ensure an excellently crafted novel.”

Mills previously won this category in 2010 for Breach of Trust (Tyndale) and was nominated in 2008 for Lightning and Lace (Barbour).

The Christy Awards have recognized Christian novels of excellence since 1999. The awards honor Catherine Marshall, writer of more than two dozen books, including Christy, her best-known work, which has more than 10 million copies in print.

See the complete list of winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *